DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Best settings for quality video upload to YT or Vimeo?

Sean M2Pro

Reactions
Hi folks - I am new to this - so I can start on the right footing may I ask for advice on best settings/resolution and other bits to get really good quality footage up on YouTube and Vimeo. Reason I ask it seems a pity once one has filmed in 4K, H-265 etc. on a M2P to then have to ‘cut back’ when posting footage. I wasn’t able to find a thread on this issue........

Many thanks

If you want to achieve best quality, you need to render in max quality - with minimum compression artefacts.
Today there is no much difference btw h264 and h265, it needs time to find new compression algorythms where h265 beats h264 ( like x264 beats h264 after 5-6 years of launching ). One moment to use h265 today - it really compress noticable better UHD videos at high bitrates ( more than 50 mb/s )
For example, in AdobePremier you can use --crf 18 or --qp 18 modes ( codec will use variable bitrate depending on scene - its better then use constant bitrate ).
Finally, depending on source (noisy, sharpness) in 4k60fps it gives ~60 to 140 mb/s excellent quality file with minimum quality loss, after uploading YouTube bitrate will reduces to ~16 mb/s and image will be acceptable quality.

Last edited:
Thanks manowar-gub - very helpful - especially once I get my head around some of the technical stuff! That will surely come as I become familiar with AP or FCPX.

Mr YooToob had this to say:

Recommended video bitrates for SDR uploads
TypeVideo Bitrate, Standard Frame Rate (24, 25, 30)Video Bitrate, High Frame Rate (48, 50, 60)
2160p (4k)35-45 Mbps53-68 Mbps
1440p (2k)16 Mbps24 Mbps
1080p8 Mbps12 Mbps
720p5 Mbps7.5 Mbps