DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Bizzare crash, M2P insists on flying into hedge

romelus

Reactions
Hey, got referred here from the MP2 forum. Hopefully someone can solve the mystery!

I've been flying drones since 2013, so not a newbie here. The other day I had my M2p hovering at low level, then noticed it drifting toward a fence / hedge. I pull it back gently but it starts to really want to go toward it! I pull back with more force and it's barely making a difference. There are trees in the opposite direction so I don't want to over correct. I turn the drone away from the hedge and push the stick to move it away, but it decides to go sideways and straight back into the hedge!

The drone clipped the hedge and fell to the ground, luckily no major damage and has flied fine since. I'm puzzled as I've never seen this before. I don't think the chain link fence could cause enough interference, it's a normal fence and I've been near similar fences before. There was nothing strange in the hedge, just normal cedar. Any ideas?

video
log

I've been flying drones since 2013, so not a newbie here. The other day I had my M2p hovering at low level, then noticed it drifting toward a fence / hedge. I pull it back gently but it starts to really want to go toward it! I pull back with more force and it's barely making a difference. There are trees in the opposite direction so I don't want to over correct. I turn the drone away from the hedge and push the stick to move it away, but it decides to go sideways and straight back into the hedge!
You lowered the drone until it was 7 feet above something.
Shortl after at 14:26.3 this warning message shows in the flight data:Obstacle Avoided. Revise Flight Route
You made unsuccessful efforts to move the drone backwards and to its right with full stick inputs but the data shows 7 more Obstacle Avoided. Revise Flight Route messages.