DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Can I fly Mini 2 SE inside my apartment ?

DaGa

Reactions
Hi guys, yesterday I buy my first DJI drone - Mini 2 SE. I was able to make one first flight yesterday and I loved that drone .

But unfortunately, today the weather turned bad - it rained all day and let it stay like that all week. For this reason, I want to ask - is it a problem to enjoy the drone inside the apartment? Yes, it won't be fully fun inside the apartment, but it's still something. Just to getting used to its management.

P.P. I have some experience flying drones, but they were cheap models

Yes you can....... BUT the room needs to be WELL LIT and have a clear and distinct 'floor' pattern.
Without GPS, as is likely to be the situation indoors, then the drone relies on the downward looking VPS sensor to hold position, those sensor need good light and good targets to work.

I have flown both the Mavic Mini and the Mini 2 indoors A LOT.
DO NOT fly it near walls or the ceiling, there seems to be a tendency for them to suck into a nearby wall and they certainly will suck up to the ceiling.

I hand launch and try to remember to hold them with the front towards me, so that the VPS sensors (at the back) can "see". If launching from a table top try to have something white under the drone, things get a bit more complicated with the launch if the 'table top is dark'.
NO loose paper or plastic bags in the room.
Hand launching I often get a slight horizontal drift on launch, maybe 3ft or so, so make sure you have the space.

If the room is too dark then there is a better than fair chance the drone will switch to ATTI and you will crash it, unless you are familiar with flying in ATTI mode.

DO NOT try to do aerobatics or fancy and daring flying indoors. Use small and gentle stick movement in P mode.
I find P mode better than C mode, I can fly them indoors in sports mode but you nned to be VERY CAREFUL with the sticks.