DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Compass issue I think

downtown0309

Reactions
This Mavic Mini is my first "real " drone so I'm a noob and trying to figure this all out. The weather finally broke here so I have been able to fly it a few times. It's amazing. Only problem is that on the Fly app screen, bottom center where it show's what direction the drone is and which way it's facing, it is never right. I tried calibrating the compass several times and it still is off a lot. Anything I'm doing wrong?

This Mavic Mini is my first "real " drone so I'm a noob and trying to figure this all out. The weather finally broke here so I have been able to fly it a few times. It's amazing. Only problem is that on the Fly app screen, bottom center where it show's what direction the drone is and which way it's facing, it is never right. I tried calibrating the compass several times and it still is off a lot. Anything I'm doing wrong?
I have had this issue once and realised that it happened after I had changed my usual take-off point from a wooden board in the middle of my garden to the edge of my patio - I then remembered that the patio had a metal mesh embedded in the base to keep it all stable! Since returning to launching from my wooden board in the middle of the garden, I have not had a repeat of the problem. I concluded that the proximity of the metal had upset the compass at start-up. Perhaps you have a similar issue with metal proximity?

You need to be more specific. Is the direction wrong relative to the north arrow, or is it wrong relative to the direction the controller is facing?

Reactions: old man mavic