DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Complete Newbie about to buy his first Drone

First BUY the darn Mini 2. Best out there for the money and is all most people need without any compromises.
Fly the heck out of it within sight and enjoy.
personally I set my RTH to stop and hover if signal is lost. I will move and do what I have to to regain signal.
Push the button now and buy it!

Reactions: Hauptmann and Dbez1
Hi all :)

So for a few years now i have been thinking about buying myself a drone, and i think i am about to take the plunge on the mini 2 (i live in the UK)

I have watched dozens of you tube videos and looked online etc and i think i have a fairly good idea of how things work, as well as the rules to where you can and cannot fly etc.

However i have a few things that i cant get my head around, and i apologise in advance as these will be very basic questions.

Basically the last thing i want (and i dare say any of us want) is to lose the drone. So a few things worry me.

1) i know when you take off you can set the (return to home) GPS point. But lets say i am in a field that has maybe a a pylon in it, obviously when i launch it i would then make sure it goes higher than the pylon and then send it on its way. But then if i return it to home, how do you make sure when its coming back it does not then hit the pylon (i am thinking it will be descending gradually), does this make sense?