DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Complete Newbie about to buy his first Drone

Chris_35

Reactions
Hi all :)

So for a few years now i have been thinking about buying myself a drone, and i think i am about to take the plunge on the mini 2 (i live in the UK)

I have watched dozens of you tube videos and looked online etc and i think i have a fairly good idea of how things work, as well as the rules to where you can and cannot fly etc.

However i have a few things that i cant get my head around, and i apologise in advance as these will be very basic questions.

Basically the last thing i want (and i dare say any of us want) is to lose the drone. So a few things worry me.

1) i know when you take off you can set the (return to home) GPS point. But lets say i am in a field that has maybe a a pylon in it, obviously when i launch it i would then make sure it goes higher than the pylon and then send it on its way. But then if i return it to home, how do you make sure when its coming back it does not then hit the pylon (i am thinking it will be descending gradually), does this make sense?

2) same sort of thing i guess...if you lose signal i have read that it will automatically return to home, what if your say quarter of a mile away and at a low height and it loses signal, would it then just turn around at that height and come home? if so what is stopping it hitting loads of things on the way home? ..probably not explaining myself but say you put it 300ft in the air to start with, send it out a distance then come down to 100ft and it loses signal...would it then return home at 100ft? if it does then would it not hit into things that it obviously was high enough to clear on the way out?

I have loads of questions but they are the 2 that i cant get my hear around so far.

Thanks all

You should always set a return to home height. The drone will first ascend to that height - fly to above the home point then descends.