DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Confused from Surrey, UK

Another newbie here - wanted the MA2 but don't want to end up with something that is heavily restricted in the UK in just a few short years, especially if people who waited end up with exactly the same product but without the restrictions because it has a class sticker on it.

Have gone for the Mini instead for now and currently awaiting delivery. Still very much looking forward to it and will hopefully be able to upgrade once the dust settles with the regulations. Has an added bonus of not having as much invested in it if the hobby isn't for me after all ?
Good on you. I couldn’t take the leap for a Mini due to the biggest disadvantage of not having Ocusync. I feel I would be much tempted to upgrade fairly quickly and then be further down with the £’s. Hope it works out for you.

Another newbie here - wanted the MA2 but don't want to end up with something that is heavily restricted in the UK in just a few short years, especially if people who waited end up with exactly the same product but without the restrictions because it has a class sticker on it.

Have gone for the Mini instead for now and currently awaiting delivery. Still very much looking forward to it and will hopefully be able to upgrade once the dust settles with the regulations. Has an added bonus of not having as much invested in it if the hobby isn't for me after all ?
The mini is very good for its price point, just don't use it in heavy winds. Use the UAV forecast app and don't fly in winds above 20 mph just to be in the safe side.

Reactions: RonW
Having recently purchased a Mavic Mini and it being my first drone I have come to realise there is a lot of regulation changes ahead.
I have watched some videos on this You Tube channel and he seems to know what he is talking about: