DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

DJI announces Avata 2, what's next?

Air 3s, doubtful. But who knows?

Next up is the FPV 2. If it comes this year, it will probably be my next DJI drone purchase.

Why else would they make (and launch) the standalone accessory RC3 which is most useful for Manual mode.

I'm still learning and room to grow on Avata 1 so I'll wait on Avata 2 for now.

Reactions: Cafguy
FPV 2
Air unit 4
DO I win the prediction bet .....For all you guys that thought I was crazy a few months back? lol
I did think they would have given us the Air Unit first.

Last edited:
Reactions: mavic3usa
The Avata is a CineWHoop meaning its propellers are inside a "thrust cage" and not exposed. The FPV is more of a freestyle type Drone with exposed props This gives the FPV MUCH more manuverability and is MUCH faster than the Avata The fpv is more at home flying in manual mode While the Avata is suited more for indoor use and around lots of things you are trying to avoid,

We already reached the point of diminishing returns on commercial drones, much like with DSLRs/Mirrorless, where the major improvements were made on the autofocus, but image quality wise my R6 is not any better than my 6D unless you are pixel peeping at 400%. so not a lot of hype for new releases.

Hopefully a Mavic 4 with a 7-28x optical zoom and an APS-C sensor, that gets quickly hacked to remove Aeroscope/RID.

Can a <900g drone mount a bigger sensor than a 4/3?
Can a <900g quad fly much longer than 30 real minutes with the current battery/motor tech?
Can we put more redundant lenses on small sensors that don't deliver the same quality as the main sensor?
Can the video signal go much further within the restraints of the regulation?
Can we get more tele? Yes, please

I have watched many videos of the Avata flying and most pilots are alone, and of course with goggles on.
So how do they get away with not having a visual observer?