DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

DJI refresh care

Eagle430

Reactions
I recently bought a Mavic 3 drone, I havent activated it yet. I used to own a Mavic 2 pro , I ve done a couple of paid jobs , I am a cautious pilot, never fly over water , always assess the area before flying etc. Lucky for me I didn't had any bad moments with my Mavic 2 during my 2 years of flying it.

i am trying to decide if a dji refresh care plan is worth buying it? Also I didn't understand if for any minor damage to the drone I still have to pay for repairs?

Another question, the Mavic 2 controller had an issue with the usb charging cable, if you was not careful and put it the wrong way it wouldn't charge and a lot of people broke it including me :)
is the Mavic 3 controller having the same issue ?

The choice to buy Care Refresh is a simple gamble. You are betting on disaster, on needing it, DJI is betting you won't. Statistics are on DJI's side, and they know how to price it to make a profit. For example, for Mini 3 Pro, it's a mere $79. Not too much of a hit. Mavic 3, at $239 (in the US) is a good chunk of cash. I tend to look at in inversely. For the less expensive drone, I could replace with less pain, but a Mavic 3 Aircraft only replacement is around $1600 bucks. Plus, for a Flyaway where you blundered and could not prove a defect caused it, there is no warranty replacement.
Final thought. If you buy DJI Care Refresh and have no claims over the year, they give you a full second year warranty. All considerations, though I imagine I haven't help much. I can only speak for myself. I tend to buy it the first year. By that time I trust it (and myself) more, and worry less due to depreciation. I might pass in year 2.

As to the controller, charging is done via USB-C. Since it is reversible, and really durable, I doubt the issue you mentioned would be a concern.