DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Drone laws

Andy57824

Reactions
Hi all
I’m new to flying, I have a mavic mini and love it. I’ve just registered it and wondering if I can buy to fly a mavic air 2 with this registration or do I have to take another test for a more advanced drone?
thanks upfront

If you mean the CAA registration and you passed the test etc. you are 'covered' to fly the air 2 etc. btw registration is not currently needs for the mini. BUT start looking into pending rules before you make any more purchases.

If you have completed 'Operator Registration' with the CAA through the on-line service, and paid your £9 fee - that same Operator Registration number that you were issued with can be fixed to both your Mavic Mini and Mavic Air 2. i.e. One fee covers multiple UAV's in your ownership. Your Flyer Registration will also cover both drones.
As mentioned above, it is not mandatory to obtain Operator or Flyer registrations for the Mavic Mini - but both are definitely required for the Mavic Air 2 (due to it being over 250g take-off weight).

If you mean the CAA registration and you passed the test etc. you are 'covered' to fly the air 2 etc. btw registration is not currently needs for the mini. BUT start looking into pending rules before you make any more purchases.
Looking on YouTube you have to register the mini from next month so I thought I’d do it now. Cheers anyway

As from the 1st July you have to register your Mavic Mini just looked online.
Cheers anyway

at the moment the requirement for registering the MM under the new rules has been put back to november ,due to the covid virus,but to be honest with you ,i would recommend that anyone purchasing a drone at this time would be better off doing the OP id and FLY id test regardless of weight ,so they are covered in the event that there is a change in the time scale of when things alter