DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Carrying payload

nlong2106

Reactions
Hey everyone I’m new to this site and it seems like a great place to ask this question since I’m a new part 107 pilot moving to florida shortly.

1. I had this great idea of using this payload drop device to throw out bait for fisherman on shore when I move to Florida I know it complies with the dropping payload requirement of doing it over a sparsely populated area but my concern is that it’s not compliant with doing it for hire does anyone know the legality behind this?

2. I’m also concerned with being harassed by beach goers saying I can’t fly or even worse threatening to call the cops on me for just flying. If anyone has had any altercations I would love to hear how you deescalated the situation so I don’t have to waste the cops time.

Thank you in advance

There are many doing this type of fishing with the drone and more. My advice is find others that are doing the same and fly with them to learn and copy there success. You wil find many speicalized pay drop devices for fishing.

Phantomrain.org
Gear to fly your Drone in the Rain. Land your drone on Water.

There is no requirement for the area to be "sparsely populated" when dropping payload. That term only appears in 107.25 (b). That concerns operating a drone from a moving vehicle. The only time you can fly from a moving vehicle is when the drone is "flown over a sparsely populated area and is not transporting another person's property for compensation or hire."

When it comes to dropping payload, you need to follow 107.23 (b). It states you can do that if the drop won't create "an undue hazard to persons or property."

Dropping a fishing line won't do that. You may want to check with Florida Fish and Game. I haven't seen anything stating you can't, but it's worh checking out.