DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

First post with some questions

Reactions
Hello All,

I am on the fence between the Mavic 2 Zoom or Pro. My main needs are to just have a decent drone to build skills. I am a Fixed wing pilot with 250 hours in a Cessna as well as sailplanes and hangliders. I went ahead and did the Part 107 add on and have a ton of experience flying R/C but not much in aerial filming. I am a mechanical engineer with tons of work in the film industry in product design working for Element Technica, 3Ality and RED. I have been out of the industry a bit in VR gaming and LED lighting and looking to make a 180 degree switch to working for a local drone company. I am in Burbank CA so lots in my area.

Anyhow since I will likely use the drone in my hobbies, I am thinking that most of my filming will be Aviation, Mountain biking and Rock climbing related. So with that said, I am thinking the Zoom may be the better fit to be able to stay a bit farther from the rock face to avoid turbulence, keep a satellite lock and also not bother the climber too much. However as with many I like the output of the pro camera better since I am not the best at Post. However, It is something I want to spend time learning. I also fly ultralights and can fly at a speed slow enough for the Mavic 2 to chase. My stall speed is about 25mph.

So for my needs above, am I correct in thinking the Zoom would be a better fit?

Also I have a Gopro mount I designed and Patented for Aircraft and have a website here with some videos. www.cloudbaseengineering.com. I can see myself using the Mavic to add to the videos but curious how the footage looks when blending Gopro and the DJI camera.

Any advice and or help would be greatly appreciated.

Marc