DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying at the Beach: Any risk to drone

astrohip

Reactions
I have an Air 2S, and normally fly it at my ranch, well inland. I'm a fairly experienced pilot. We're going to the beach next week (30A area of Florida), and my kids and grandkids really want me to bring it. Both for fun (they have all flown it before at the ranch), and to look for sharks in the water. We will be beachfront, and have a good sized deck to take-off and land on. No sand landings (hopefully!). It will never be flown without me being right there.

I baby my drone. I keep it clean, don't abuse it, etc etc. Any risk from flying at the beach for a week? Does the salt air damage it? Any sand risk (again, assuming no sand landings)? How about the wind, there's almost always a decent breeze at the beach. I know not to fly in strong winds, but I'm not familiar with how the beach winds may vary as you go up & down, and over the water.

I'm looking for possible problems, and if there are things I can do to mitigate them. I'd like to bring it, but don't want to unnecessarily risk it either.

Thanks for any and all feedback!

PS: I did a search, and didn't see any threads related to beach flying and associated risks. Apologies if I missed one.

Salt air and electronics don't mix. My original Phantom II Pro suffered an early end from flying over the Caribbean I got some great footage then and since then, I'm just more aware and wipe down with a clean damp cloth after every flight.
One more thing. Flying over clear water can confuse the bottom sensors and can possibly get dunked if your flying low.

Sand. Do not take off and land directly on the sand. It WILL get grit in places you don't want it.

Get a one of those collapsible circular landing pads.
I mentioned in my post "I have a good sized deck to take-off and land on. No sand landings (hopefully!)."