DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying in "No Drone Zones"

pcooper114

Reactions
Wanted to pick everyone's brain about this. So for starters, I'm a 107 pilot and have been for several years, so I know the rules when it comes to FAA rules superceding state and local rules and signs.

Our annual fair is in town, one of the largest in the country, and I'm planning to fly out there at some point. There have anyways been No Drones Allowed signage posted around the property, even though we're in Class E airspace with no restrictions. This is a state owned property, so I do take it a little more seriously than if it were a just a local law.

Problem is that I'm a classic rule follower and hate confrontation. With the size of this fair, there is law enforcement everywhere that I'm sure don't understand FAA regulations and Part 107, so I really just don't want to deal with that. Obviously I'm flying from off property, and not directly over where all the action is, so I don't anticipate any issues.

But does anyone have any thoughts? I mostly fly in more remote areas and do landscape photography, so just trying to avoid any issues

It seems you have answered your own question (not wanting to deal with potential confrontation), but to move forward you also need to consider flight over people, and traffic. For local jurisdictions you may not face flight violations, but misdemeanor offensives (malicious mischief), catch all crime when nothing else covers it.

Don't FAA rules stipulates that flying over crowds is verbotten ?
Such a flight was discussed in a recent thread and I think it was said that the only exception to this was when the drone was fitted with various safety features, one? of which was a parachute.

I agree with @Recoveryone. You need to ask yourself if its worth it. However, if you decide to proceed, just make sure you have all your documentation on hand.

Reactions: sarahb
Reactions: sarahb