DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Greetings from Wisconsin!

TommyTheLoot

Reactions
Just wanted to take a moment to say Hello. I'm newly licensed & looking forward to getting some real missions under my belt soon. I actually started flying several years ago (pre part 107) but the quad I had at the time ended up being very unstable in flight and I got absolutely no support from the manufacturer so it ended up in the moth balls. After the FAA started the licensing requirement, I studied off & on, trying on my own to get familiar enough with the regs to take the test with confidence. What a waste of my time! I finally decided to spend a few extra dollars and enroll in a proper ground school course online. A few weeks with that & I was ready to go. I passed the 1st time around...with plenty of room to spare LOL. I would highly recommend taking a course if you don't have a license yet. I think it's worth the money.

Initially, I'll be flying for the company I work for, getting pictures & video of solar photo-voltaic module installations, for use in our marketing materials. I'm also hoping to start a new side-business of my own, offering aerial photography & video services to real estate agents. I know a few personally already so I think I can get a decent foot in the door to some of the local agencies.

At work, I'll be flying a Mavic Pro. Sadly, my first interaction was sending it in for repairs. It would appear that a previous user crashed it because I was getting the dreaded Gimbal Motor Overload error message. After multiple hours of research & trying various work-arounds with no success, I concluded that the ribbon cable was most likely damaged. It's in the shop & I'm just waiting for the final verdict now.