DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Gulf Shores, Alabama Drone Laws

GregS

Reactions
I am a Snowbird visiting Gulf Shores, AL for 3 months this winter. I brought my two drones to enjoy while down here: Phantom 4 Pro and Mavic Pro. I asked a Police Officer where I can fly my drones here and he said; No where. I looked up the drone ordinance for the city which were adopted in 2018. It read like they were absolutely paranoid about drones. Stating they were frightening people, spying on people, used for voyeurism, potential danger to people, The list goes on. Using that thinking, why dont they ban cars and binoculars? If I was a voyeur, all I have to do is sit on the beach and watch all I want!
Since I am not a lawyer, I wanted to post the last part of their Ordinance. It appears to me that this last statement negates everything they stated about not flying drones. Please see the bold statement below. Aren't we "expressly authorized as long as we follow FAA rules'? Or can they over ride the FAA rules?
What do you think?