DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

H.265 vs h.264

Starcruiser

Reactions
Hello everyone. I am new to the forum! This topic is NOT a discussion on which codec is more superior. I do not wish to create or start any debates here. I am actually looking for some help.

I only film in 1080p 60FPS. I am willing to try other frame rates in the future, but I do this to create a constant standard for myself because I am new to video editing and it is one less variable for me to consider when trouble shooting problems during the editing process.

Okay so so last week I filmed in h.264 (normal color mode) and made a really cool video edit in Adobe premier pro. I exported in h.264 codec format, posted it to YouTube and everything worked as it intended! Yay, awesome.

This week I filmed in h.265 (d-log-m color mode) to try to take advantage of the 10-bit color and came back home to make another cool video edit.

I followed the exact same process of editing as I did in my previous h.264 video edit, but of course when exporting I exported this time in h.265 codec format thinking it would match up. As I went to review the file before posting to YouTube to check the quality of content, I saw what looked like extreme color distortion. (I attached an example of what it looks like during playback...)

So I decided to try again and export this same video edit in h.264 codec format thinking maybe my laptop just couldn’t handle the processing power needed for h.265; however the results are the same! Mad color distortion through the entire clip!

I run an i5 cpu with intel graphics card, a 1050TI GPU, 256ssd and 8GB of ram on my PC. Not the best specs, but apparently good enough for h.264(normal) video editing. But not good enough for h.265(d-log-m) video editing maybe?