DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hand catch on a moving ship

Gringorio

Premium Pilot
Reactions
When the ship is moving, in this case about 9 knots or around 10 mph, a crew member will catch the drone after each survey flight. My technique is to parallel the ship with the drone and match the ships' speed, then while flying forward slowly bring the drone in for the hand catch. On this day it was a very calm sea so there was little pitching or rolling of the ship to worry about when coming in. The crew member who caught the drone declined the safety glove. The magnetic interference I've addressed in a different post.

I have been flying for 37 years. I have never "hand propped" a manned aircraft nor have I performed a hand catch of my drone. I file it under "no need" (to me). That said I have seen many hand catches by those how have the guts and skills to do so. I have done many challenging things flying but those things that spin do not excite me (unless they stop spinning of course!) Perfectly planned and executed hand catch may I say!!

Reactions: Gringorio
When the ship is moving, in this case about 9 knots or around 10 mph, a crew member will catch the drone after each survey flight. My technique is to parallel the ship with the drone and match the ships' speed, then while flying forward slowly bring the drone in for the hand catch. On this day it was a very calm sea so there was little pitching or rolling of the ship to worry about when coming in. The crew member who caught the drone declined the safety glove. The magnetic interference I've addressed in a different post.