DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Help me with the math: Shutter speed & Frames per second...

floyd

Reactions
Profuse apologies if this topic has been discussed on another thread. Please shut it down immediately if this is the case.

First, I am a newbie when it comes to drone video and photography. Please pardon my ignorance. Secondly, I fully understand not everything read or viewed on the internet is truthful and can be trusted. All that said, after watching a bunch of youtube videos authored by what appear to be knowledgable drone pilots/videographers/photographers, it seems the optimal setting for filming video that will eventually become slow motion footage is frames per second doubled to arrive at shutter speed over one.

Example: If my fps is 30 the optimal (eventual slow motion) shutter speed would be 1/60. Therefore, in one second I shoot 30 frames of 60 images, or one frame with two images, right?

But then folks say to buy a neutral density filter so on sunny/bright days it is possible to film with a shutter speed of 1/60 of a second without over exposure. Wouldn't increasing the number images per frame improve slow motion? Rather than throwing on an ND filter, why not increase shutter speed in such a way that puts full images on one frame?

Example: (Filming at 30 fps) If 1/60th of a second over exposes my video and halving the light at 1/120th of a second is a proper exposure, wouldn't that provide smooth slow-motion? Now I'm putting four images on one frame.

Why is the one frame to two images the best ratio for smooth slow-mo? What am I getting wrong?

Firstly that "rule" is about motion blur, not "slow motion".
Therefore, in one second I shoot 30 frames of 60 images, or one frame with two images, right?
No, you shoot 30 images that are each exposed during 1/60th of a second. If you shot at 1/120 the shutter is opened for a shorter amount of time and will thus capture less motion blur.