DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How durable is the Mavic Mini?

twobob

Reactions
Wondering how durable the Mini is? I'm a newbie and am likely to have a few bumps or emergency landings. Are the Mavic MIni's durable or rubbish?

Fairly durable. I crashed mine into a tree at high speed, got it stuck there for 4 weeks in the wind and rain, and eventually managed to poke/shake it down with the aid of a very long pole. It then dropped to the ground from about 15m height. After getting it home and checking it over all I needed to do was put a new battery in and it was up and flying as if nothing had happened.

If you fly into a wall or it drops onto concrete, rock or something unforgiving then you're more likely to cause damage. The main bits that tend to break are the gimbal and the arms. Props are also a bit fragile but easily replaceable, and you get spares.

Having said that, the mavics are so easy to control you need to be doing something silly, daring or poorly thought out to get into trouble. Start in a wide open space and get a feel for how the drone flies and gradually work up to more complex flights.

As fragile as it appears, I find it to be very durable. Hard landings are very difficult to do unless you do an emergency motor stop. But I have done some serious weed-eating on low field passes, gotten it tangled up in vines to the point I had to cut it out, and hit a tree at max speed in sport mode. After all of this, my mini flies as good as it did on day one.

This isn't saying I fly like this all of the time, I have been flying mine for over a year and these incidents happened as I was getting used to the drone. I haven't had an incident with mine for about 9 months. But for normal use, I am very impressed with the quality of the mini, especially for the price.

One time, the Mini nicked the leaves of a coconut tree. Worse, it was over a swimming pool.