Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

How many satellites are needed for RTH to work.

Meta4

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
7,263
Reactions
8,561
Age
64
Visit site
Please could someone let me know the minimum number of satellites are needed for RTH to work.
There is no fixed number that guarantees a good GPS location fix but DJI drones won't be in P-GPS mode with less than 6 sats.
But even with 6 (or more) sats you won't have P-GPS unless you also have good satellite geometry.
 

gnirtS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
3,356
Reactions
2,466
Visit site
Its not the number of satellites, its the geometry of the visible satellites.

If you only have a small section of sky visible GPS is going to be inaccurate or even not work at all. The same number of satellites spread more favourably around the sky will yield far better accuracy.
 

old man mavic

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Nov 15, 2018
Messages
8,942
Reactions
24,019
Age
73
Location
Wales UK
Visit site
because it has GPS and glonass you should be getting anywhere from 10 to 20 ,but as Meta4 said this depends on many factors including the surroundings you are flying in,when the mini has enough to fly safely it will say ready for take off
 

gnirtS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
3,356
Reactions
2,466
Visit site
I get it a lot in narrow canyons, waterfalls, forests etc.

It looks OK but the error circle is large and worst case, jumps in and out of P-GPS mode causing the drone to move wildly.

Thats why my M2P has now been altered to give me ATTI mode so i an still fly without it moving all over the place due to unfavourable satellite geometry.
 

ZX14-R

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
945
Reactions
492
Location
Brisbane (Northside), Queensland Australia
Visit site
I think Min of three for triangulation.
 

Meta4

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
7,263
Reactions
8,561
Age
64
Visit site
I think Min of three for triangulation.
Interesting... I thought it was 6, or maybe 8.
If you use a handheld GPS unit on the ground, it will require a minimum of four sats to get a 3D fix.
Sat geometry might mean you still can't get a good fix with the minimum number.
DJI require a minimum of 6 sats but you still might need >6 because of sat geometry.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Thomas B

Keule

CTO at SDS
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
2,097
Reactions
1,291
Location
48°18'25"N 11°52'10"E
Site
skydrone-systems.com
Please could someone let me know the minimum number of satellites are needed for RTH to work.
According to DJI's GPS health scale:

Level0: The GPS has almost no signal, which is very bad.
Level1: The GPS signal is very weak.
Level2: The GPS signal is weak. At this level, the aircraft's go home functionality will still work.
Level3: The GPS signal is good. At this level, the aircraft can hover in the air.
Level4: The GPS signal is very good. At this level, the aircraft can record the home point.
Level5: The GPS signal is very strong.
 

gnirtS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
3,356
Reactions
2,466
Visit site
It'll still *work* but with nothing like the accuracy. You maybe 20m+ or more from the launch point.

The GPS bar shows the GPS quality which is far more useful than a number of satellites.
 

Keule

CTO at SDS
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
2,097
Reactions
1,291
Location
48°18'25"N 11°52'10"E
Site
skydrone-systems.com
The GPS bar shows the GPS quality which is far more useful than a number of satellites.
That's what I posted in #11. The GPS Health/quality levels according to DJI's definition.

Source: DJIGPSSignalStatus
 
DJI Drone Service

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
97,077
Messages
1,115,895
Members
124,638
Latest member
k2nprecision