DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

I'm a noob.why download offline maps

saltcodnewfie

Reactions
Hi, what is the reason to download offline maps ? I just got the mavic pro.
I'm using the Samsung S7 , any helpful tips to use with this phone.

Some of the best places to fly and photograph are away from civilization, where the cellular signal may be weak or non-existent. The live maps will not work in these places.

Also, many people like to turn off their phone's wireless features by putting it in "airplane mode" so that no incoming calls, emails, or texts can interfere with their flying. Again, no live maps in this case either.

And then there are people like me who have a dedicated device that is only used for flying the Mavic. It has no SIM card, so downloading offline maps is it for me ... when they work. But that's a different matter.

Hi, what is the reason to download offline maps ? I just got the mavic pro.
I'm using the Samsung S7 , any helpful tips to use with this phone.
I'm not sure if flyers actually use the maps or just feel they should have them.
I think I've used the map twice in four years and think the radar display is much more useful.
If you don't need the map, there's no need to worry about it.

Some of the best places to fly and photograph are away from civilization, where the cellular signal may be weak or non-existent. The live maps will not work in these places.

Also, many people like to turn off their phone's wireless features by putting it in "airplane mode" so that no incoming calls, emails, or texts can interfere with their flying. Again, no live maps in this case either.

And then there are people like me who have a dedicated device that is only used for flying the Mavic. It has no SIM card, so downloading offline maps is it for me ... when they work. But that's a different matter.
Thanks for the reply, do I need a cell signal to fly? I thought it just used GPS ? thanks.