DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Imagine this

AVLJMA

Premium Pilot
Reactions
My wife and I (in our mid 60s) were talking about how our parents would have been WOWed by cell phones and the internet. Then we wondered what we will be WOWed by.

I looked at the recent developments with EHANG taxi drone being in the experimental stage. I think that will be our next WOW. I am a helicopter pilot and I would find the DRONE TAXI so much easier to fly.

Which one of us could not immediately pilot a full size, human carrying drone? If the controls were the same it would be effortless. Add to that the obstacle avoidance on a full size quad copter and it becomes even safer. In a moment of novice flying panic the student pilot just takes his/her hands off of the controls and hover in place until they regain their composure.

It is SOOO much easier than flying a helicopter. No pedals, no collective, no rotor to worry about. Just flying with the exact same two joysticks that we fly our Mavics with today.
If you have a problem just HANDS OFF and HOVER.

Of course there would be a horrific air space issue. Drones could occupy space below 400 feet. There would have to be some infrastructure issues as well. Challenges for sure. And of course the cost.

BUT which one of you drone pilots out there would hesitate to fly a full sized human carrying drone? I mean, you already know how the controls work. Just thought it is something that is possible or at the very least, intriguing. The next generation's WOW thing.

P.S. I predict we will start to see human carrying drones in the movies. BOND, JAMES BOND.

Last edited:
Reactions: TTP
Good thoughts mate, have to be automatic flight. It would be a worry having some of the pilots here flying drone taxis. Read about their crashes all the time ?
Regards

Reactions: AZDave and NAVMAV