DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Insurance: Is it or is it not a requirement?

TDWright

Reactions
Hi all. First Post. Be gentle.

I have a bit of unique circumstance that makes me ask the question about insurance.

Personally, I have an SFOC and liability insurance and will keep it after I get the Advanced Pilot Certificate.

At work though, it's a different story. I am a Public Affairs Officer in the Canadian Armed Forces. I'm working to bring an aerial imagery capability to my base's Imagery Section.

I have loaded my Image Techs on a reputable training course. Once complete, the Techs will take the Advanced Certificate Exam and do the flight review.

However, the CAF does not carry liability insurance (it's cheaper for the federal government to pay claims than it is to carry insurance and pay premiums).

It would be great if during this process, there wasn't a box to check verifying insurance (as with the SFOC) because I'm pretty sure the CAF has not had the conversation with TC to explain that we are our own insurance (when it comes to RPAS).

I've scoured the TC website (and this forum) and have only found a recommendation to have insurance. Honestly, I find this surprising for advanced operations near/over people and a little too good to be true for my particular case.

If anyone has the answer, one way or the other, I'd love to hear it.

Shameless plug: This is the kind of stuff we are doing:
Shot with a Mavic 2 Pro. I'm not happy with the slide show portion. Should have done a Ken Burns effect.

Cheers,
Tony

Hi Tony,