Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

Is a Go 4 App 'multi - Boots' possible?

PeteS2017

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2017
Messages
82
Reaction score
20
Age
59
Is there any way of installing several versions of the app so that you can choose one just before you start flying, then try another if you start getting problems?
 

gnirtS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
3,356
Reaction score
2,463
With some apps yes. There are app cloner utilities out there to give each version a different name.

I use 2 different versions - the latest official so things like 360 panorama work and a much older one from before the date DJI broke the android "auto sync HD" download feature they dont seem interested in fixing.
 

Greg Smithski

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2017
Messages
116
Reaction score
103
Age
46
This should be interesting when the mavic Pro two comes out. People that wanna hang on to their original mavic will have to get another tablet or phone to fly both.
 
Last edited:

gnirtS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
3,356
Reaction score
2,463
Why would they?
When the mavic 2 (what the hell is a maverick?) comes out it'll use DJI Go 4. Just like everything since the Phantom 4.
 

Greg Smithski

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2017
Messages
116
Reaction score
103
Age
46
Because if you're using an old version of the go app I don't think the mavic two will be in the drop down menu. I'm already using two older versions on my Android phone and iPad. I know it's possible to run two versions on an Android phone but I haven't tried it on a IOS device.
 

gnirtS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
3,356
Reaction score
2,463
Just done run an older version. Problem solved. The pro 2 is bound to have new features and settings.

Worse case clone the old version you want to use and install the new one on as well. Then switch between,