DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

issue with uploading pictures and videos

rsummers87

Reactions
im having issues uploading or even watching video files with my sd card plugged into the computer. the message im getting is " Windows Media Player cannot play the file. The Player might not support the file type or might not support the codec that was used to compress the file"

ive changed my settings for windows while formatting the drone. any help or ideas please...

also, what is the suggested distance and height for the drone.

im a newb at this stuff. thanks

It's possible you need codec update, but the Mavic video files are not unusual except 4K will make older computers struggle.
You might download an alternative player such as VLC.
Make sure you stop the recording a minute or so before turning the Mavic off as it has to clear some buffer and close the file (or it won't play)

Also it's quite important to actually download onto the PC because the file generally won't transfer fast enough to play direct from the SD card.

I use the free "media player classic." For all media.

Get it. No technical know how needed.
Set your computer to use it as default and never have a problem again.

is the dji assistant something i need or no?

i downloaded that MPC but still wont play the file. not sure what the hell is going on. this shouldnt be that difficult

Are you shooting in 4K . My older PC won't play them .

Yes I am shooting 4K . So in order to shoot 4K I need a newer system?

Possibly, but you'd have to quote the specs of your current one if you want decent advice.

I dropped down to 2.7 and was still a little jumpy but when I process it for vimeo it's fine . 1080 no issues . I need to upgrade bad .
Just send donations for a new 4k IMac to me :)

I dropped down to 2.7 and was still a little jumpy but when I process it for vimeo it's fine . 1080 no issues . I need to upgrade bad .