DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

It’s only a matter of time before they ban our hobby because of morons

It's not just drones - I am a helicopter pilot, and was coming into a smaller local airport, when I saw 8 or 10 kids and an equal number of adults playing soccer on the large circle with a 10 foot H painted on it (heli-pad), so I had to divert to land. When I went over to them, the parents went ballistic for me 'endangering' them all. Even when I told them that the airport, and the heli-pad was restricted and not appropriate for them to use, they yelled and screamed at me - saying that I should just go somewhere else with the helicopter! I asked the airport manager, and he went to tell them they couldn't be there, and they threatened him as well - so morons are found everywhere.
We are in the age of entitlement. I've had similar encounters with people letting their kids drive golf carts all over the public street. "it's no issue, they are just having fun, learning to drive, not hurting anyone, blah, blah". What will they say when an inexperienced teen comes around the corner and plows into their kids on that dumb golf cart - that is illegal on the public road?

True. Also, Phones have cameras on them. Anyone can pretend they are talking on the phone, but film anyone, even kids or people at the beach. Cell phones with cameras should be monitored for illegal filming. You need to get waivers to film people, cell phone users don't. All phones need registration numbers in case they are used illegally to film a neighbors yard, or private property or people, ETC. If I throw my phone in the air with the camera on does it become a drone? Just kidding. I just find it funny, no one cares when you film with your phone, but they freak if it's an actual video camera or drone.
were are you that you need to get wavers to film people. There is no such rule here in the US of A

Reactions: Meta4