DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Jittery Footage

Luuuuuuke

Reactions
I'm a newbie to both drones and video editing. I've tried googling this and can't find any answers, probably in part because I don't know any of the technical terms for it.

Watch this short clip, which demonstrates the problem I'm having in almost all of my footage:

Notice that when panning and turning the video looks very choppy and 'ghosty'. It's shot with a Mavic 2 Zoom, 4K @ 30FPS. All settings on Auto. It happens whether it's sunny or cloudy. Edited in Premiere Pro, although the footage looks like that straight out of the card no matter what player I use. I know in this particular clip my camerawork isn't exactly the smoothest, but it happens almost no matter how slowly I move, unless it's really, really slow!

Questions:

1. Why? I've read that it's all about the shutter speed, but that solution seems to be for a slightly different problem, i.e. footage that looks too crisp.
  2. Suppose it is the shutter speed (I haven't tried yet, but have just taken delivery of some ND filters), how does the drone then adjust exposure as light conditions change in a shot? That is, if I set and fix the shutter speed manually to 2 X FPS, what happens when it keeps going from cloudy to sunny? If the ISO is as low as it can go on 100, will it just adjust the aperture to suit? If so, won't that mean the depth of field constantly changes throughout the shot? And what if the aperture can't go small enough for how bright it is; won't that mean overexposed footage?
  3. Is there a way to fix this chopping effect in Premiere Pro? I've tried a few things but none seem to work.
  4. Is this even normal, or do I maybe have some faulty equipment?

Thanks Guys.

Couldn't really tell the problem in that short clip.

I am pretty new myself & had problems with choppy video,.