DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Jumpy video?

JackT_22

Reactions
Okay so total beginner here- both for drones and for videos really. Below is a link to the raw, straight out of the camera video I took today. Go ahead and jump to 1:15- it's pretty jumpy.

Before we get to the details of shooting, I should say that I have another video in which all I did was fly (in sport mode) in a straight line about 50m off the treeline, that video is far jumpier than this one, even though there's no pan, roll, or yaw.

Ok this video was 4k/24fps. Recorded directly to the sd card. Micro SD: SanDisk Ultra 16Gb (write speed 80 mbps).

Other things I tried was rendering the video in photoshop output at a lower quality, resolution, higher frame rate, lower frame rate. They all seemed to fare worse than the original.

Anybody have any advice as to what it is I'm doing wrong? I believe this is some sort of user error on my part.

Looks like your SD card is too slow. I don't know where you got the 80 mbps write speed but according to the SanDisk site the Ultra card is rated U1 which has a write speed of 10 mbps. You need a SanDisk Extreme (or other brand) that is rated U3 to record 4K. Be sure to buy from a reputable dealer as there are a number of counterfeit cards floating around.

Reactions: Thomas B
Okay so total beginner here- both for drones and for videos really. Below is a link to the raw, straight out of the camera video I took today. Go ahead and jump to 1:15- it's pretty jumpy.

Before we get to the details of shooting, I should say that I have another video in which all I did was fly (in sport mode) in a straight line about 50m off the treeline, that video is far jumpier than this one, even though there's no pan, roll, or yaw.

Ok this video was 4k/24fps. Recorded directly to the sd card. Micro SD: SanDisk Ultra 16Gb (write speed 80 mbps).