DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

License to fly in UK and EU?

ninetytwo

Reactions
Hello everyone, hope you’re all doing well.

I’m currently based in UK and started flying drones a few months back. I’ve recently registered myself for both the Flyers ID and Operator ID. I own a DJI FPV and will buy an Air 2S really soon.

I want to start doing professional jobs with these 2 drones, and as I understand, in the UK I will need the A2 CofC license to do so as these drones fall under the 4kg maximum take off mass. But it appears these licenses are only valid in the UK.

My question is if there is another license that I can invest that is also valid throughout Europe? I’m not sure in which areas I will be starting but I was thinking commercials, real estate, and maybe weddings. My dream is to become a professional videographer and I’m just starting out. I do know that having a commercial license might be easier to get jobs.

Any help is immensely appreciated!

Are you aware that you need a spotter ( a person who can see the drone with their eyes and communicate directly with you) stood beside you if you fly the FPV whilst wearing the googles?

Yes I am. I knew it even before buying the drone and doing my Operator ID exam. I don’t fly alone, my GF is always with me when I use the FPV.

Plus I would never feel safe flying without the awareness of my surroundings, but thanks for pointing it out. :)

Interesting scenario.

I’m sure with both your operator licence and AAOC A2 licence you’d be fine in Europe.

Let us know if you find a ‘advanced European licence’