Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Litchi configuration

marco n

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Age
60
Hello everyone, I just bought Mavic Pro and I needed to fly with waypoints I installed Litchi. In the DJI shop they told me that I would have to calibrate the compass in Litchi but when I try it return me an error it says that it is not possible to complete the operation. In other forums I read that there is no need to calibrate it in Litchi, as long as it is calibrated with DJI Go 4. I tried to fly with Litchi in FVP and everything seems ok but I do not trust to try in waypoints without first being sure the compass is ok. Can anyone tell me what to do after installing Litchi? Thanks for your help.
 

Qoncussion

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2017
Messages
1,902
Reaction score
1,720
Age
53
Location
California
Calibrate it in Go4. The software/app you use has absolutely no affect on how the compass functions. And the compass doesn't care what app you use to fly. The two are unrelated.

A quick and easy trick in Go4 for compass calibration is to flip the sports mode switch five times, up and down in rapid succession. This will bring up the compass calibration screen. Be sure to ALWAYS calibrate in an open area, free of metal objects, including (and in particular) Apple smart watches, as such objects will result in a poorly calibrated compass.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Norval and BigAl07

marco n

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Age
60
Calibrate it in Go4. The software/app you use has absolutely no affect on how the compass functions. And the compass doesn't care what app you use to fly. The two are unrelated.

A quick and easy trick in Go4 for compass calibration is to flip the sports mode switch five times, up and down in rapid succession. This will bring up the compass calibration screen. Be sure to ALWAYS calibrate in an open area, free of metal objects, including (and in particular) Apple smart watches, as such objects will result in a poorly calibrated compass.
Thanks a lot!!!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Qoncussion

Flack

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2017
Messages
47
Reaction score
18
Age
62
Location
North West UK
I have had my Mavic Pro 14 months now, traveled abroad with and I have only calibrated my compass once in all this time, if its not showing any errors for compass, then don't do it, its not needed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jaysrmc

marco n

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Age
60
I have had my Mavic Pro 14 months now, traveled abroad with and I have only calibrated my compass once in all this time, if its not showing any errors for compass, then don't do it, its not needed.
Thanks, nice to know this.
 
  • Like
Reactions: UAVNV

BigAl07

Administrator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jun 1, 2017
Messages
2,585
Reaction score
3,474
Age
49
Location
Western NC, USA
A quick and easy trick in Go4 for compass calibration is to flip the sports mode switch five times, up and down in rapid succession. This will bring up the compass calibration screen.....
All this time and I'm just now learning this trick?

Thanks for the info sir. Very good to know.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Qoncussion

jaysrmc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Messages
776
Reaction score
492
Location
Phoenix
I have had my Mavic Pro 14 months now, traveled abroad with and I have only calibrated my compass once in all this time, if its not showing any errors for compass, then don't do it, its not needed.
What he said.
 

JKU17

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
6
Age
49
I have heard also direct from DJI a compass calibration is not needed unless it states to. Some do it everytime they fire it up and I have seen some move 100 yards a base station and do it again!

But to each their own on this subject matter.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
71,610
Messages
829,772
Members
98,657
Latest member
bp5002