Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

Litchi configuration

marco n

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Age
61
Hello everyone, I just bought Mavic Pro and I needed to fly with waypoints I installed Litchi. In the DJI shop they told me that I would have to calibrate the compass in Litchi but when I try it return me an error it says that it is not possible to complete the operation. In other forums I read that there is no need to calibrate it in Litchi, as long as it is calibrated with DJI Go 4. I tried to fly with Litchi in FVP and everything seems ok but I do not trust to try in waypoints without first being sure the compass is ok. Can anyone tell me what to do after installing Litchi? Thanks for your help.
 

Qoncussion

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2017
Messages
1,901
Reaction score
1,725
Age
54
Location
California
Calibrate it in Go4. The software/app you use has absolutely no affect on how the compass functions. And the compass doesn't care what app you use to fly. The two are unrelated.

A quick and easy trick in Go4 for compass calibration is to flip the sports mode switch five times, up and down in rapid succession. This will bring up the compass calibration screen. Be sure to ALWAYS calibrate in an open area, free of metal objects, including (and in particular) Apple smart watches, as such objects will result in a poorly calibrated compass.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Norval and BigAl07

marco n

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Age
61
Calibrate it in Go4. The software/app you use has absolutely no affect on how the compass functions. And the compass doesn't care what app you use to fly. The two are unrelated.

A quick and easy trick in Go4 for compass calibration is to flip the sports mode switch five times, up and down in rapid succession. This will bring up the compass calibration screen. Be sure to ALWAYS calibrate in an open area, free of metal objects, including (and in particular) Apple smart watches, as such objects will result in a poorly calibrated compass.
Thanks a lot!!!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Qoncussion

Flack

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2017
Messages
47
Reaction score
18
Age
63
Location
North West UK
I have had my Mavic Pro 14 months now, traveled abroad with and I have only calibrated my compass once in all this time, if its not showing any errors for compass, then don't do it, its not needed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jaysrmc

marco n

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Age
61
I have had my Mavic Pro 14 months now, traveled abroad with and I have only calibrated my compass once in all this time, if its not showing any errors for compass, then don't do it, its not needed.
Thanks, nice to know this.
 
  • Like
Reactions: UAVNV

BigAl07

Administrator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jun 1, 2017
Messages
4,014
Reaction score
7,152
Age
49
Location
Western NC, USA
A quick and easy trick in Go4 for compass calibration is to flip the sports mode switch five times, up and down in rapid succession. This will bring up the compass calibration screen.....
All this time and I'm just now learning this trick?

Thanks for the info sir. Very good to know.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Qoncussion

JKU17

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
6
Age
50
I have heard also direct from DJI a compass calibration is not needed unless it states to. Some do it everytime they fire it up and I have seen some move 100 yards a base station and do it again!

But to each their own on this subject matter.