Get more from your Mavic
Friendly, Helpful, Knowledgeable Mavic Community
Join Us Now

Litchi: Heading doesn't match longitude

RoboticTundra

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
172
Reactions
74
Age
62
If I have a waypoint with a longitude of -93.130449 and I'm doing 'Focus POI' on a POI with the exact same longitude but 50' north of the waypoint. I would expect the heading to be 0°. Yet it is listed as 355°.

I have a number of waypoints that share a longitude or latitude with their associated POI and yet the headings are 0°, 90°, 180° or 270° only about 50% of the time.

??

Thanks,
 

sar104

Dic mihi solum facta, domina.
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 27, 2017
Messages
14,288
Reactions
19,114
Location
Los Alamos, NM
I'm not sure what you are seeing. I set up a few test waypoints and POIs in mission hub, and the resulting headings were exactly as expected. Do you mean the headings in mission hub or the actual recorded headings when the mission is flown?
 

RoboticTundra

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
172
Reactions
74
Age
62
This is in Mission Hub. Examples:

WP.04 and POI.02 both have a longitude of -93.130799. I would expect WP.04 to have a heading of 180° but here it shows 178°.

Screen Shot 2018-05-17 at 6.06.21 AM.png

Next, WP.05, WP.08 and POI.03 all have a longitude of -93.130990. WP.05 has a heading of 176° and WP.08 a heading of 5°.

Screen Shot 2018-05-17 at 6.02.30 AM.png

WP.09 and POI.01 both have a longitude of -93.130649.

Screen Shot 2018-05-17 at 5.53.15 AM.png

Latitude's are similarly off. WP.01 has a heading of 269° and WP.02 is 268° while both s/b 270°. WP.07 is correctly 90°.

I had curves in but bad headings still exist with straight and WP.01 shouldn't have been impacted anyway.
 

Keule

CTO at SDS
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
2,101
Reactions
1,304
Location
48°18'25"N 11°52'10"E
Site
skydrone-systems.com
I did also simple test setup:

WP 1 points to POI1
WP 2 points to POI2

The first leg (WP1-WP2) is exact North/South bound
The second leg (WP2-WP3) is exact West/East bound

POI 1 is on the exact longitude of the first leg.
POI 2 is on the exact latitude of the second leg.

Heading from WP1 to WP2 is exact 180°.
Heading from WP2 to WP3 is exact 90°.


Litchi_HeadingTest.jpg

Here the lat/long coordinates from WP2:

Bildschirmfoto 2018-05-17 um 13.58.28.png

Litchi is working as expected for me.
 

sar104

Dic mihi solum facta, domina.
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 27, 2017
Messages
14,288
Reactions
19,114
Location
Los Alamos, NM
This is in Mission Hub. Examples:

WP.04 and POI.02 both have a longitude of -93.130799. I would expect WP.04 to have a heading of 180° but here it shows 178°.

View attachment 38118

Next, WP.05, WP.08 and POI.03 all have a longitude of -93.130990. WP.05 has a heading of 176° and WP.08 a heading of 5°.

View attachment 38119

WP.09 and POI.01 both have a longitude of -93.130649.

View attachment 38117

Latitude's are similarly off. WP.01 has a heading of 269° and WP.02 is 268° while both s/b 270°. WP.07 is correctly 90°.

I had curves in but bad headings still exist with straight and WP.01 shouldn't have been impacted anyway.

Perhaps you could post a link to that specific mission so that we can take a look.
 

sar104

Dic mihi solum facta, domina.
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 27, 2017
Messages
14,288
Reactions
19,114
Location
Los Alamos, NM
Mission Hub - Litchi

Thanks. Didn't realize these were publicly accessible.

I'm not sure how you set that up, but the custom heading settings were the problem - perhaps you changed the POI coordinates after adding them. Anyway - if you reset the POIs at each of the waypoints (select a different POI and then back to the intended one), all the headings will be correct.
 

RoboticTundra

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
172
Reactions
74
Age
62
Thanks for figuring that out. I should have thought about trying that.

I never changed the headings. It wouldn't let me in POI mode. I did change Lat/Long once I got accurate info from the surveyor (who gave me 8 decimal places for 1.1mm accuracy).

Interestingly, if I change the longitude on WP.09 to -93.130500 it moves the WP but keeps the same heading and does not update it to stay fixed on the POI. If instead I drag WP.09 to the same approx location then it does adjust the heading.
 

sar104

Dic mihi solum facta, domina.
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 27, 2017
Messages
14,288
Reactions
19,114
Location
Los Alamos, NM
Thanks for figuring that out. I should have thought about trying that.

I never changed the headings. It wouldn't let me in POI mode. I did change Lat/Long once I got accurate info from the surveyor (who gave me 8 decimal places for 1.1mm accuracy).

Interestingly, if I change the longitude on WP.09 to -93.130500 it moves the WP but keeps the same heading and does not update it to stay fixed on the POI. If instead I drag WP.09 to the same approx location then it does adjust the heading.

That does seem like a bug - updating coordinates of a POI should have exactly the same effect as dragging the marker. I'd suggest submitting a bug report.
 

DJI Drone Deals

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
116,852
Messages
1,384,780
Members
145,645
Latest member
Rosscog3