DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Long distance antenna and parabolic range extender meaning?

NewbieNewbie

Reactions
Hi to all the members here

As a total newbie I saw 2 ads (pre owned) on gumtree, one was selling a Mavic Platinum with a rc with long distance antenna, plus with parabolic range extenders. The other person was selling a mavic air with a yaggi antenna. I contacted both persons to ask them what their range is (I am in a CE region)

They were both unsure. One of them said 4km. I suspect they never tested the maximum range or are the second owners.

I am on a massive farm.

May I ask does anyone know what difference in terms of range in a CE country the long distance antenna makes?

What difference the parabolic range extender makes?

What difference the Yaggi antenna makes to the range please?

I know nothing, so I thought if I buy it pre owned with it all already set up, then it will help me, but I am not sure if it really increases the range significantly?

Thank you to everyone for your advice and help.

Merry Christmas and best wishes

Typically, when one refers to a "long distance antenna" they are referring to one that replaces the stock antennae (see photo below). A few members have touted them.

Yagis and Parabolic "extenders" essentially capture the signal beam from the the antennae that shoot backwards, redirecting them forward and focusing them for more signal strength. The Yagis have a very focused and narrow beam while the parabolics have a wider beam. They are *very* inexpensive and can be used together. I think the total cost of both were under $20 USD. Drone Valley did an excellent presentation on them. I'll edit this reply with the link if I can find it later.