DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Looking for help with issue.

Bunraku

Reactions
Hi guys

I'm having an issue where video when panning is blurry. I think it's a setting rather than a fault. I'm not a camera expert and mostly learning things online.

I am filming in 5.4k 30FPS with a shutter speed of 60. This shutter speed is because I thought I had to use the rule of thumb of double shutter speed of frame right. At that shutter speed the video is blown out so am using an ND16 filter. When panning it is very blurry which I don't like, but am sure it's caused by my shutter speed or something else. What's the best solution? Thanks

Reactions: Gagey52
Hi guys

I'm having an issue where video when panning is blurry. I think it's a setting rather than a fault. I'm not a camera expert and mostly learning things online.

I am filming in 5.4k 30FPS with a shutter speed of 60. This shutter speed is because I thought I had to use the rule of thumb of double shutter speed of frame right.
Movement + slow shutter speed = blurred images.
You could pan slower, or ignore that "rule" and allow a faster shutter speed.
Instead of accepting that "rule" do a little testing for yourself and see if you like or don't kike the results you get.

Have to agree with Meta4, I’m not much of a videographer myself, but often blur when panning cause I turn too fast.
Regards

Besides yawing too fast, moving the gimbal fast etc, flying closer to something also makes this worse than if further away / above.
Your video was distant, so probably more to do with yaw speed.

The other thing I noticed, your video when viewed in the window on the forum (even maximised) looks really fuzzy all the time, like out of focus, yet clicking on the YouTube view and enlarging, it looked quite ok in general.
There was better vision at the start of the yaw when going slower, than after you sped up the turn a bit.

Reactions: Gagey52