DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

lost connection - didn't RTH but just hovered in place

Subnet

Reactions
Newbie here and first time creating a thread :)

For starters, I've flown a number of times where trees eventually get in the way when my Mini 2 is quite far out, and I lose connection and RTH works perfectly.

This past weekend, after flying out over the ocean for over a mile (over 1,600 meters), I decided to go in a different direction, went about 60m high and proceeded to fly 'down' the beach, parallel to the water. I was standing on the beach and there was absolutely nothing in the way, and when I was about 400m away from me, I lost connection. Strange but no big deal I thought, but this time RTH didn't engage, and the drone just sat their hovering.

After about 6 minutes, I decided that it wasn't coming back and I proceeded to walk towards it. It wasn't until I was less than 100m away, it finally reconnected and I could land.

Has anyone had this happen before where RTH didn't work correctly? Any thoughts? I wonder if when the battery would have gotten low enough it might have triggered auto RTH?

I'm glad I could walk to it vs. having it just sit there hovering over the Pacific...

Welcome to the forum from the deserts of Arizona! Enjoy.

what other equipment and software were you using at the time?

Check your app settings, under meenu go to safety tab then scroll down to advanced safety settings. Under signal lost, you can set what you want your mini 2 to do in case of rc signal loss. I highly suggest that you adjust the setting accordingly depending on where you are flying. This is one of the things that I check right after take off.

I lost connection. Strange but no big deal I thought, but this time RTH didn't engage, and the drone just sat their hovering.
Two possible explanations.
1. You only lost downlink but not the signal from controller to the drone.