Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Lost Signal Return to Home Initiated (Failure)

mrgolf30

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Age
50
Location
USA
Hello everyone. I am just getting started. I was flying today over a tract of land with high power transmission lines approximately 800 feet away. I got a warning in the app mentioning something about possible interference, etc. I don't remember the exact wording. Long story short, I could sometimes get 3,000 feet away at 390 feet high with no problems, but at other times it would lose signal and try to return to home at 50 feet straight up. Every time I lost signal it would return to home except the last 2 times. Those times it said it was returning to home, but it immediately started trying to land.

The first time I was 900 feet away at a height of 350 feet. I noticed on my remote that it was rapidly going down and not moving toward home. I could press up and get it to gain altitude, but it was like at the same time someone was pressing down.

I got it back safely both times, but this has me worried. Do you think it was the electrical lines in the area causing the problem or is something else going on? I did update my home point each launch.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bill combs

Lastrexking

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2018
Messages
237
Reaction score
166
Age
45
Location
Yorkshire
Yes, it was the power lines. Don’t fly near them.
 

mrgolf30

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Age
50
Location
USA
Yes, it was the power lines. Don’t fly near them.
Thank you. This is disappointing. There seem to be a lot of power lines here. I did another flight this afternoon in a different area that also had power lines. Same problem.

So I can attribute the signal loss AND the RTH trying to immediately land as power line interference? At the flight this afternoon it did not loss signal, but when I pressed RTH to test the system it also tried to land where it was.

This has me worried!
 

WithTheBirds

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2018
Messages
1,579
Reaction score
887
The power lines almost certainly had nothing to do the landing. They might have interfered with the signal connection (doubtful) or interfered with the compass if you were flying close to them.

The landing within 50 feet is expected and normal behaviour.

Landing further away also suggests you may have the RTH action set to “land” rather than “hover” or RTH.
 

Meta4

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
4,073
Reaction score
4,399
Age
63
So I can attribute the signal loss AND the RTH trying to immediately land as power line interference? At the flight this afternoon it did not loss signal, but when I pressed RTH to test the system it also tried to land where it was.

This has me worried!
It had nothing to do with the power lines. Power lines won't make your drone land and the suggestion that they could is misguided.
There are some possible explanations and rather than guessing without any information, the recorded flight data will show exactly what the issue was.

If you want to learn what the issue was go to DJI Flight Log Viewer | Phantom Help
Follow the instructions there to upload your flight record from your phone or tablet.
That will give you a detailed report on the flight data.
Come back and post a link to the report it provides.
 

Bill combs

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2018
Messages
416
Reaction score
262
Age
57
Hello everyone. I am just getting started. I was flying today over a tract of land with high power transmission lines approximately 800 feet away. I got a warning in the app mentioning something about possible interference, etc. I don't remember the exact wording. Long story short, I could sometimes get 3,000 feet away at 390 feet high with no problems, but at other times it would lose signal and try to return to home at 50 feet straight up. Every time I lost signal it would return to home except the last 2 times. Those times it said it was returning to home, but it immediately started trying to land.

The first time I was 900 feet away at a height of 350 feet. I noticed on my remote that it was rapidly going down and not moving toward home. I could press up and get it to gain altitude, but it was like at the same time someone was pressing down.

I got it back safely both times, but this has me worried. Do you think it was the electrical lines in the area causing the problem or is something else going on? I did update my home point each launch.
i’ve had many issues with all of my drones around power lines mpp,m2p,ph4p2.0, from loss of signal to return to home on their own.
 
DJI Drone Service

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
71,660
Messages
830,449
Members
98,710
Latest member
waverider