DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic 2 Pro odd yaw behavior

mintakax

Reactions
Since this is my first post... Hello !
I am a new M2P pilot. I haven't flown for 5 years but had a fair bit of experience in the past with Phantom 1, home built F450, F550 and a large Wookong X-8 with FPV and first Zenmuse gimbal. Amazing advancements in drone technology since then.

I've been flying the M2P for a couple of days with the smart controller and DJI goggles. Yesterday on a close flight, the drone began to endlessly spin around in yaw. I pushed RTH, but spinning still continued so I cancelled. I noticed that if I pushed the yaw stick to one side the spinning stopped, so I was able to land. Obviously the drone was getting an input for 100% yaw in the other direction.
Restarted and everything was fine. I'm wondering what might be the source of the problem ? If this had happened to the roll axis instead of yaw it probably would have been a crash by the time I figured out how to correct. I'm finding that the goggles have a steep learning curve and at this point are pretty awkward for me as far as changing and setting various features. I wonder if some accidental goggle input could have caused this ?

I would recommend you post the flight log, it will show what was commanded when the continuous yaw was happening.

Paul C

Reactions: Thomas B
welcome to the forum could be some magnetic interference affecting the stick that controls yaw from something magnetic close to the controller

welcome to the forum could be some magnetic interference affecting the stick that controls yaw from something magnetic close to the controller
Thanks
Very unlikely since the drone was always close to me in my backyard in the exact spot where I have made dozens of flights lately. Unless it was some kind of transient magnetic interference.