DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic 3 Filter Use

TX Steve

Reactions
I have never used ND filters before and my question here for the attached picture will ND filters help?

I have the ND4, 8, 16, 32 what would be a good starting point for this type of picture.

DJI_0007sm.jpg

I have never used ND filters before and my question here for the attached picture will ND filters help?
Not even a little bit.
I have the ND4, 8, 16, 32 what would be a good starting point for this type of picture.
ND filters are of no use at all in drone still photography unless you want to force a slower shutter speed.
But cutting the light uniformly across the image and forcing a slower shutter speed won't make the image appear any different.

What would make a difference would be to bring up some of the shadow detail in your image editing software.

Last edited:
Not even a little bit.

ND filters are of no use at all in drone still photography unless you want to force a slower shutter speed.
But cutting the light uniformly across the image and forcing a slower shutter speed won't make the image appear any different.
OK, thanks I normally dont shoot into the sun like that but I had one and thought I would ask. Thumbswayup

OK, thanks I normally dont shoot into the sun like that but I had one and thought I would ask. Thumbswayup
If you upload the original image to Dropbox or similar and post a link, I can do a little tweaking in Photoshop to see what's possible.

Last edited:
Reactions: TX Steve
If you upload the original image to Dropbox or similar and post a link, I can do a little tweaking in Photoshop to see what's possible.
Thanks but that is not a keeper, I just took it to try if filters would help anything, it was the first pic I took with my Mavic 3.

Only if you want motion blur like a speeding car or a waterfall. Having said that, conditions have to be really good to prevent camera shake from wind/drone movement.