DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air 1 Controller won't charge & has cable connection problems

Muravey

Reactions
Hello!

I'm completely new to the world of drones. My first contact with anything drone-related was the used Mavic Air 1that I was gifted a couple of weeks ago.

My phone is a Xiaomi Redmi Note 9 Pro with Android 12 and USB-C connectivity. After managing to sideload the DJI GO 4 app from an apk website, the first thing I noticed is that the short DJI 🎮(RC) -> 📱(USB-C) cable didn't work. It took me a while to figure that out. The previous owner had no idea about it, as he's got an iPhone and only used the 🎮(RC) -> 📱(Lightning) cable in the set. After he opened my eyes and explained that the weird RC port takes a regular Micro-USB plug, I was able to put together a 🎮(Micro-USB) -> 📱(Micro-USB + USB-C adapter) Frankencable to connect to my phone. It wasn't pretty, but it worked. I did my first few flights. Bliss. Ecstasy. A brave new world of sky-borne photography and filmography had opened the eyes of the blind.

Next, I realised that a 🎮(USB-A) -> 📱(USB-C) cable could be used to connect the controller to the phone via the so-called "Assisstant Video Link Port" on the 🎮, which I also did. Why? Well, I was glad to do away with the extra adapter on my previous Frankencable, as 🎮(USB-A) -> 📱(USB-C) cables are much more abundant in my bottomless drawer of electronic stuff.

Did a few more flights. Filmed my girlfriend walking along the shore. Filmed her again on some tetrapods by the breakwater. Happiness was an angry bee with 4 propellers in the sky, flown by a bald guy with a little black box in his hands. In the meantime, I ordered a couple of proper 🎮(RC Port) -> 📱(USB-C) cables and I'm eagerly awaiting their delivery.