DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air 2 Unresponsive to Side-to-Side Controls

Firebee

Reactions
Hi!

I'm a relative novice pilot (had my Mavic Air 2 for a couple of years, but only fly it a few times each year).

Today I reacquainted myself with the procedures and controls and updated the firmware. I was disappointed to discover that the side-to-side (right control stick left and right in Mode 2) control inputs had no effect during flight. Up/down, pan, and forward/backward controls all worked fine.

Any suggestions as to what might be the cause (besides controller/drone hardware malfunction) would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Hi!

I'm a relative novice pilot (had my Mavic Air 2 for a couple of years, but only fly it a few times each year).

Today I reacquainted myself with the procedures and controls and updated the firmware. I was disappointed to discover that the side-to-side (right control stick left and right in Mode 2) control inputs had no effect during flight. Up/down, pan, and forward/backward controls all worked fine.

Any suggestions as to what might be the cause (besides controller/drone hardware malfunction) would be appreciated.

Thanks!
click on the 3 little dots on top right of your screen.
Go to Safety. There you will see under obstacle avoidance a switch that says disable sideways flight.
Turn that off and you should be good to go.
085303jbrthcbtj9thrble.jpg

Thanks very much, Dusty. My DJI Fly app doesn’t present an option to disable sideways control. I’m guessing that my 2nd generation iPad mini is incapable of installing recent DJI app updates (e.g. I know it can’t update to the most recent version of Safari). Perhaps the firmware update isn’t compatible with my iPad’s superseded version of DJI Fly and defaults to disabling sideways control.

I’ve asked Santa for a new iPad mini. Hopefully I’ve been good (enough) this year.