Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Mavic air wifi channel settings

daramwhat

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
20
Reaction score
7
Age
41
Hello everyone! This is Dara from Nigeria.
My issue is that only 2.4ghz is been displayed (that is from 1-10) on the wifi channel settings on my MA, I couldn't access 5.8ghz at all. Does anybody know why that is and how to solve the problem?..
 

aokusman

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2018
Messages
271
Reaction score
114
Age
44
Hello everyone! This is Dara from Nigeria.
My issue is that only 2.4ghz is been displayed (that is from 1-10) on the wifi channel settings on my MA, I couldn't access 5.8ghz at all. Does anybody know why that is and how to solve the problem?..
I’m also in Nigeria (Lagos) curious to know what sort of distance you are getting in 2.4, and where you fly. Cheers
 

daramwhat

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
20
Reaction score
7
Age
41
I’m also in Nigeria (Lagos) curious to know what sort of distance you are getting in 2.4, and where you fly. Cheers
I generally don't have issues flying outskirts of the town but the problem is flying in the urban areas, there are times I lost connection with the aircraft just few meters away from the remote and it's frustrating. I'm actually based in Port Harcourt. Meanwhile you didn't state if it's the same with you.( I meant having access to only 2.4ghz
 

aokusman

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2018
Messages
271
Reaction score
114
Age
44
I generally don't have issues flying outskirts of the town but the problem is flying in the urban areas, there are times I lost connection with the aircraft just few meters away from the remote and it's frustrating. I'm actually based in Port Harcourt. Meanwhile you didn't state if it's the same with you.( I meant having access to only 2.4ghz
I have not tried to change frequencies yet. I am able to go 2500 feet in urban area before I start loosing signal and turn around. Tomorrow weather permitting I’ll try and see if I can do the switch.
 

aokusman

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2018
Messages
271
Reaction score
114
Age
44
I generally don't have issues flying outskirts of the town but the problem is flying in the urban areas, there are times I lost connection with the aircraft just few meters away from the remote and it's frustrating. I'm actually based in Port Harcourt. Meanwhile you didn't state if it's the same with you.( I meant having access to only 2.4ghz
I was able to change to the 5ghz frequency and flew my aircraft 2300 feet before RTH kicked in. Hope this helps.
 

Jack Daw

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 13, 2018
Messages
113
Reaction score
70
Age
53
Usually only 2.4 shows up on the selection page, because showing the entire spectrum is too long. Swipe the screen to the left and it should scroll horizontally and reveal the 5.8 selections.
 

charlas

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
451
Reaction score
161
Age
45
Yeah sliding it left shows the 5.8ghz ranges, not sure what channels Nigeria is restricted to in 5.8Ghz, but it's open for private use.
 

daramwhat

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
20
Reaction score
7
Age
41
I was able to change to the 5ghz frequency and flew my aircraft 2300 feet before RTH kicked in. Hope this helps.
Interesting! Mine never shows me the 5ghz option.. I really don't understand it..
 

aokusman

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2018
Messages
271
Reaction score
114
Age
44
Interesting! Mine never shows me the 5ghz option.. I really don't understand it..
Are you sure you are doing it right? You have to scroll sideways and you will see where it’s says 2 change to 5.
 

daramwhat

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
20
Reaction score
7
Age
41
Usually only 2.4 shows up on the selection page, because showing the entire spectrum is too long. Swipe the screen to the left and it should scroll horizontally and reveal the 5.8 selections.
This image here is what I get. It doesn't change even when I scroll to the left like you suggested..2018_06_26_17_37_48.jpeg
 

aokusman

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2018
Messages
271
Reaction score
114
Age
44
I actually tried it and it worked, you are lifesaver. Thanks a lot.. but I hope the aircraft won't attempt to fly to USA when I hit the RTH button..
In which country did you buy your air?
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
71,829
Messages
832,624
Members
98,873
Latest member
Hoboman