DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Mini took a swim: analysis needed please

heiterman

Reactions
Flew a great flight out along a jetty and followed a boat coming back east into the harbor. Weather was great, minimal to no wind. No battery issues. No warnings that I recall. Great sat locks and never lost any reception. About 12 min in I was on my way back to base, about 2000 ft out and noticed a small uncommanded decrease in altitude at about the 12 min mark. I gave the mini a short up on the stick to correct. A few moments later to my horror it started a sustained and uncommanded descent into the bay. It happened so fast! I think I was about 15-20 feet in altitude before it descended without any control input.

I am no telemetry expert, however reviewing the .dat file using my google aeronautical degree I didn't see anything that stuck out. I'm going to escalate to DJI soon but wanted to see if any experts here could take a peak to see what the heck caused this to happen.

Along with the loss of the drone, the biggest disappoint and lesson learned is to not keep camera footage from an entire trip on one card. Lesson learned! The footage I lost from the previous days of flying and filming really stung:(

Thank you for all your help,
Brian

CLICK HERE: Airdata flight link

1593302107893.png

Attachments

• 20-06-19-09-12-49_FLY065.DAT
    5.4 MB · Views: 12
I think I found the right .txt file. Here you go:). I also uploaded the .txt
to Airdata.

I looks like I was applying up stick to try to keep altitude for the last 30 sec or so without success?

I appreciate any incite before I contact DJI.
Thank you!

Airdata .txt file

Attachments

• DJIFlightRecord_2020-06-19_[09-14-00].txt
    1.3 MB · Views: 14
Last edited:
Reactions: Motorcycle Rider
I think I found the right .txt file. Here you go
Much better .. thanks
This will show your flight data much better: