DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Pro cycles left and right on take off

DPL

Reactions
Hi all, I’m a bit of a newbie so I’m just doing some simple manoeuvres at the moment. I had something odd happen today so l’d like to reach out for an explanation.
I took my MP outside just before dusk and as soon as I tried to increase altitude from initial takeoff, the drone cycled from left to right. I’d guess about 45 degrees either side of central and about a couple of seconds per cycle.
I had full control over height and general direction but wherever I pointed it, it was cycling. The display said I had an obstacle but as I had turned it through 360 at hover, this was not possible.
I landed and tried again.....same thing happened.
I landed again and thinking it might be compass error, I tried to calibrate but it failed twice before I gave up and just switched off and back on again.
From then on, it flew perfectly.
I kinda wish I’d caught some video but was more concerned with checking out the issue really.
Any helpful comment would be appreciated.

Hi all, I’m a bit of a newbie so I’m just doing some simple manoeuvres at the moment. I had something odd happen today so l’d like to reach out for an explanation.
I took my MP outside just before dusk and as soon as I tried to increase altitude from initial takeoff, the drone cycled from left to right. I’d guess about 45 degrees either side of central and about a couple of seconds per cycle.
I had full control over height and general direction but wherever I pointed it, it was cycling. The display said I had an obstacle but as I had turned it through 360 at hover, this was not possible.
I landed and tried again.....same thing happened.
I landed again and thinking it might be compass error, I tried to calibrate but it failed twice before I gave up and just switched off and back on again.
From then on, it flew perfectly.