DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic survived crash into salt water (almost)

Kymadn

Reactions
Hi all, I just got home from a long day of fishing following an on fortunate accident with my Mavic. I was taking some aerial shots of our boat and hit a tree in doing so. I feel pretty terrible about it so i don't really want to go in detail of how it happened, that''s not why i am posting.

After the Mavic struck a branch, it dropped into the shallow salt water. It took me about 2 minutes to frantically retrieve the drone from under the water. I immediately disconnected the battery and washed the drone in fresh water.

I do not have DJI care refresh. I am an electronics technician in by trade, so given the circumstance that i have no warranty i decided to try save my Mavic. I completely gutted the Mavic and washed the electronics with isopropyl alcohol, dried it all out and re-assembled.

I took the drone for a test flight just now. The verdict is that it lives to fly another day amazingly. However i have a camera sensor error. The camera display is back and i cannot control the gimbal up/down. Other then that it seems to fly as normal with no other errors.

I dont think it is economical to repair this aircraft with the possibility of future faults arising from this crash. If it was fresh water then it may have been a different story.

I was hoping to get some recommendations on here regarding a replacement Mavic. I have the 2x good batteries and a controller so just the aircraft will do. I live in Australia and trying to find the best value for a new aircraft.

My mate got the whole thing on camera so i may be able to upload the video of the crash. I was also recording from the mavic when it happened but the video corrupted.

Crazy Shot Drones $1699 for just Drone?
Sorry for your experience but keep the old Mavic for parts.