DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavis Photo Issues

bmoore1118

Reactions
I have had the Mavic air for a little over a month. I love the video that comes out of the camera but I have not been impressed with the photos. I am a photographer and know that a small 12mp fixed lens isnt going to produce much but they seem especially bad. I shoot raw and in manual mode and then edit in lightroom. They either seem pixelated or out of focus. A good example is below.(raw converted to jpeg) This is right off the sd card with a couple of simple Lightroom edits. When i zoom in to 100% it just looks crappy. Any help please!DJI_0093-3.jpg

I have the ND filters on when taking photos because I usually am shooting video at the same time. Would this make a difference? Also with the fixed focus would having more ground instead of the sky make a difference?

These look fine to me.

You’re 100ft up and 200ft away from your subject, so the picture isn’t going to be totally crisp.

The Mavic Air is auto focus camera, so as-long as your shutter speed, matches your histrogram you should be fine.

These look fine to me.

You’re 100ft up and 200ft away from your subject, so the picture isn’t going to be totally crisp.

The Mavic Air is auto focus camera, so as-long as your shutter speed, matches your histrogram you should be fine.
I thought the AIR was a fixed focus? There is no way to focus it?

These look fine to me.

How would you think this would look being printed. I have a pro print shot close and want to get some prints.

I have the ND filters on when taking photos because I usually am shooting video at the same time. Would this make a difference?...
Unless you need polarizing, ND filters are not needed for photos. You need to keep the ISO as low as possible to avoid noise. What was your ISO set for on your samples?

I thought the AIR was a fixed focus? There is no way to focus it?
Yeah, fixed focus/auto focus.