Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Memory card

onahi2002

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Age
50
Location
Essex. UK
ill be needing to buy a memory card for my trips away. I know they have to be a certain spec for speed etc, But what is the favoured size. Im sure I read somewhere that only go up to 64GB ? Why not 128 ? Or even 256 ?
Whats the general view ?
Oh and how long video do you get with each size ?
Cheers
 

HK!

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2017
Messages
109
Reaction score
46
Age
40
If you go over 32gb, you will Want to format to Fat32.
Above 32gb is exFAT format which will cause gimbal resets on MP/MPP.
M2 not so much, but still

The good news is you can format any card and any size to FaT32 :)
using this utility


Re time. 32gb is about 3 batteries/30 mins approx at 4K with Mavic 2,
But it's cutting it close. Better to go with a 64gb at least. Much Faster too.

Recommenced Samsung Evo +/Sandisk Extreme. Any size
MP/MPP a bit less.
 
Last edited:

onahi2002

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Age
50
Location
Essex. UK
If you go over 32gb, you will Want to format to Fat32.
Above 32gb is exFAT format which will cause gimbal resets on MP/MPP.
M2 not so much, but still

The good news is you can format any card and any size to FaT32 :)
using this utility


Re time. 32gb is about 3 batteries/30 mins approx at 4K with Mavic 2,
But it's cutting it close. Better to go with a 64gb at least. Much Faster too.

Recommenced Samsung Evo +/Sandisk Extreme. Any size
MP/MPP a bit less.
You can format the card in the drone using the app ?
 

DanMan32

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
4,980
Reaction score
1,761
Age
53
You can format onboard but if it is above 32GB, it will be formatted ExFAT which as was pointed out, tends to cause gimbal resets.

Be sure the card you choose is U3 certified, especially if you record in 4K.
 

Thomas B

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 25, 2019
Messages
6,567
Reaction score
4,575
Location
Gilbert, Arizona
You can format the card in the drone using the app ?
Yes.

You can format onboard but if it is above 32GB, it will be formatted ExFAT which as was pointed out, tends to cause gimbal resets.

Be sure the card you choose is U3 certified, especially if you record in 4K.
I have never had a gimbal reset problem related to formatting 64-128GB SD cards in the drone.. with M2P
However you may want to try yours to see what happens before you travel to a shoot location.
 

DanMan32

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
4,980
Reaction score
1,761
Age
53
My post was in response to MK!'s response which derailed me from the thread focus. The gimbal reset problem was with M1 series and recently discovered it correlated with formatting ExFAT. I don't think anyone has experienced gimbal reset issues with M2. I know I haven't and I use 64G cards.
 

DanMan32

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
4,980
Reaction score
1,761
Age
53
If you have an M2, then no, you should not have a problem. Just be sure the card is U3 rated. 64GB seems to be a sweet spot for economical and practical reasons. Practical because it's a good idea to swap cards or copy data from them frequently so that if something happens that you lose the card, you don't lose recordings/pictures from too many past flights.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Thomas B

DanMan32

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
4,980
Reaction score
1,761
Age
53
Yes I know. Like I said, HK!'s post, post #2 derailed me.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
73,333
Messages
849,314
Members
100,453
Latest member
sreehari