DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mini 4 Pro Use of goggles

123taff

Reactions
I have been flying on or off for the last 5 years or more.

Originally I used a generation one Mavic. I also used a set of DJI goggles, (both of which I still own)

I have since been bitten by the convenience of the less restrictive use of the Mini series, firstly the Mini 3 pro and now the Mini 4 pro and the RC2 controller.

One of the things I did with my Mavic was to take out my grandsons, and I would fly the Mavic using my Iphone, and they would take it in turns to wear the goggles just to get a birds eye view of what I was filming, completely independant of my control of the drone flight.

This tended to make it more interesting for them.

I would welcome the same set up with my Mini4 pro and RC2 combination, but as far as I can tell, the newly announced association with the integra goggles and the mini4 is only possiblle if connected to a motion controller, thus meaning that the flyer has to wear the goggles.

My ideal would be for me to carry on controlling the aircrat via VLOS and the RC2, and the grandsons to be able to wear the goggles to see what the drone is seeing, again completely independant over my control of the aircraft.

I take it that this is not possible with the Mini4 pro. It is such a shame and I wish that DJI would just commit to a link to third party independant goggle viewing without the need to interfere with the control of the aircraft by simultaneous conventional means.

You can "fake" it by plugging an hdmi adapter into your device and then into the googles. You can't control anything with the googles but you will have the view.