DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mushy, Soft looking Video's on my MPP?

Dopper

Reactions
I am new to drones and the video game (2 months) and I am wondering if someone can help me with my video filming questions and recommend better settings.
I have been watching a lot of videos an trying to educate myself on filming technique and MP settings but it's all little confusing for someone who is new to it.

My videos don't look very detailed or crisp. When I fly over a canopy of trees they just look like green mush. People and objects appear soft (i think thats the right word for it) or not quite in focus.
I understand why motion blur is desirable for a cinematic look, nevertheless, I think I would prefer to have more sharpness and detail for everyday videos.
My Camera settings are:
ISO 100-2720X1530 @ 30fps, what balance "sunny"(depending on conditions) Style Landscape (+1 +1 +0) Color D-Cinelike

It was a very bright, almost cloudless day today. It was necessary to use a ND32 filter today in order to get my shutter down to 1/60. I use the right wheel to adjust exposure by using the histogram. I try not to go crazy with the exposure so I try to keep it close to 0 as long as it looks decent.
While I was flying the shutter speed would drop down from 1/60 to 1/50 at times. Is it suppose to do that or do I have to lock the shudder speed somehow?

I also tried a ND16 filter. I started the shutter speed @ 1/60 but it quickly jumped up and stayed around 1/100 to 1/120 as I was flying. The videos seemed to look ok but still mushy.
If my shudder speed goes to a higher/lower setting while filming should I be concerned and use the exposure wheel to correct it or...should I not worry about shutter speed (as long as it is close to the 1/60 range) and just try to keep a balanced exposure, close to 0?