DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New iPad mini

Palmary

Reactions
Was going to buy an iPad mini 128GB to use with the standard remote for my Mavic 2 Pro (the telephone screen is way too small). But now I see Apple has announced the new mini.

I'm not very technically savvy, so do you see any tangible benefit in buying the new model for my purpose, or should I try to use it as an opportunity to grab a bargain on the old one?

If the new one, do I need cellar model and would 64 GB be enough?

Thanks in advance!

Cell not required. You can load maps at home around a WiFi signal, then go fly.
The faster processor will make a difference.
Storage capacity just depends on how many pictures you plan on keeping.
256 is overkill in my opinion.

Cell not required. You can load maps at home around a WiFi signal, then go fly.

Thanks, Starz.

Re Cell and WiFi models, sorry for my ignorance, how can I load maps for a particular area while at home?

Also, I remember reading some forum threads a long time ago, and there was a point to justify purchasing a cellar model as it had a built-in GPS module, while WiFi only didn't. Is it still valid? Am I confused with something?

Last edited:
Thanks, Starz.

Re Cell and WiFi models, sorry for my ignorance, how can I load maps for a particular area while at home?

Also, I remember reading some forum threads a long time ago, and there was a point to justify purchasing a cellar model as it had a built-in GPS module, while WiFi only didn't. Is it still valid? Am I confused with something?
The way I do it is turn on the go4 app, click on your map, then scroll your map to the area you will fly at a later time, when you have scrolled around that area on the map that you will be flying in, turn go4 off. It will be saved for later.

The only reason the gps comes into play, is if you want to change your home point location from where it set at takeoff on that particular flight.