DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New MA2 pilot seeking input as I transition to professional drone pilot.

PITTMAV69

Reactions
Hello again. I recently joined this forum as a noob MA2 Pilot and I will soon take the 107 test for my commercial UAV Pilots license. Here's a little bit about why I joined. I'm eager to learn as much as possible early on. I'm a professional Lighting Designer in the Live Events and Concert Touring Industry. Due to Covid-19; my Industry has been totally decimated as we can no longer have large gatherings in a live music setting and my clients who regularly tour nationally have all suspended touring operations indefinitely.
I decided to pivot and have a go at the professional drone pilots industry. As I have been gathering my own clients in the Live Events Industry for the past 30 years; I figured I'd use the same basic formula with Drone Tech. My plan is to use the many skills I have accumulated as a Pro Lighting guy; Stage technician and Live Production Electrician; to fly drones for the purpose of Corporate; Industrial and Entertainment (wherever there can be any); Aerial Photography and video as well as site surveys; Security; Exploration; Search and Rescue and Science.
I started with an MA2 so I would have at least the minimum requirements for pro work until I can afford to add other AC's like the Mavic 2 Pro and Enterprise and Inspire 2. As such; I've been in a deep dive on everything drone related that I could find for the last month or so. I would gladly accept any and all advice; tips and tricks of the trade and networking opportunities that any of you could offer.
I'm really glad to be here and I wish you all safe flying and better days ahead. Thank you in advance.
Kyle.